Advisory Board

Ahmed Elsherbini

Ahmed Elsherbini is Chief of the Conferences and Publications Department at the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), as of March 2013. Since 2006, Elsherbini has been closely involved with ITU activities, as Vice-Chairman of TDAG. Before joining ITU, he held several distinguished critical positions in the political and technical areas in Egypt and abroad, notably Deputy to the Minister of Communications and Information Technology for International Cooperation, Director of the National Telecommunication Institute at the Ministry of CIT, Board Member of the National Telecommunications Regulatory Authority, Cultural Counselor and Director of the Educational Bureau of the Egyptian Embassy in Canada, Vice-Chairman/board member of the Arab Information and Communication Technology Organization (Arab league), and Board member of ARABSAT.

Elsherbini has also chaired and been a member of various Boards of societies and public services, such as the ICT Research Council, the Egyptian Academy of Scientific Research and Technology, the Egyptian Communication Engineers Scientific Society, the IEEE, and the Egyptian Internet Society.

He is also renowned in the academic field as a professor at the Electronics and Communication Engineering Department, of the Cairo University. He supervised more than 30 Ph.D. and M.Sc. theses in the field of Communications, Networks, and Information Technology, published more than 95 scientific research papers, and edited and co-authored 17 books in Communications and Information Technology. He holds two patent rights from the United States and two European patents.

His achievements have earned him numerous prestigious awards and honors such as the First-Degree Medal of Excellence by the President of Egypt, the Egyptian State Award in Engineering Science, the Appreciation Award and Armor from the Faculty of Engineering of the Cairo University, the Appreciation Award and Armor from the Egyptian Communication Engineers Scientific Society, as well as the ITU Appreciation Award.